

The first International SiGe Technology and Device Meeting (ISTDM) will be held in Nagoya, Japan, on January 15-17, 2003. This meeting will provide a forum for reviewing and discussing all technological aspects from materials and process technologies to device and circuit technologies for SiGe(C) semiconductor. The meeting will consist of both invited and contributed papers. Contributed papers are solicited in the following areas;

## **Technical** Area

- Materials in Si-Ge-(C) System: SiGe wafer fabrication; Strained or Strain-relaxed Si, Ge, SiGe(C) or Si:C formation; Novel growth technique; Si, Ge and SiGe(C) quantum wire/dot formation; Defect-controlled buffer layer growth; Defect engineering and characterization.
- **2. Process Technology**: Gate, source/drain and channel engineering; SiGe(C) and Si:C epitaxy; Polycrystalline/amorphous SiGe(C) and Si:C deposition; Cleaning and treatment of SiGe(C) surface; Impurity doping; Impurity diffusion and diffusion suppression; Dry etching; Metal contact; Si/Ge intermixing control; Oxide and nitride on SiGe heterostructure; Ge and C contamination in Si process; Process characterization.
- **3. Device Technology**: HBT; CMOS; BiCMOS; Hetero-FET over CMOS; RTD; Optical devices (emitters and receivers); Ultimate small device; High-speed devices; Low-voltage/low-power devices; SOI; SoC.
- **4. Circuit Technology**: Analog; RF power amplifier; High-speed; Mixed-analog/digital; RF mobile communication; Wireline data-/tele-communication; Ubiquitous network.

On behalf of the Committees, it is our great pleasure to welcome you to the ISTDM Conference at Nagoya, Japan.

Yukio Yasuda (Nagoya University)	Junichi Murota (Tohoku University)
Chair of the Organizing Committee for the 1st Meeting	Chair of the International Technical Program Committee for the 1st Meeting
for the 1st Meeting	jor the 1st weeting

# SUBMISSION OF ABSTRACTS (Deadline : Extended to October 10, 2002)

**ONE ORIGINAL** and **THREE COPIES** of camera-ready two-page abstract with one page of text and one page of figures, written in English on white bond paper (A4 size; 2.5cm margin on four sides, **use of Times New Roman Font and Single Spacing is recommended**) should be submitted by **October 10, 2002** to Professor Junichi Murota at Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University, Katahira 2-1-1, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8577, Japan. Abstract submission as **E-MAIL-ATTACHED WORD-file or PDF-file is also available to SiGe@murota.riec.tohoku.ac.jp**. The abstract text (in normal 12-point font) should be headed by the Title (in bold 14-point font), Author(s), Affiliation(s), Address, Telephone number, Fax number and E-mail address (in normal 12-point font), and clearly describes the new contributions of the work. The submission notification included Title, Author(s), Affiliation(s), Address, Telephone number, Fax number and E-mail. Papers to be presented at the meeting will be selected by the Program Committee based on the submitted abstracts. **The notice of acceptance and the advanced program** will be e-mailed to one of the authors by the middle of November 2002. **The proceedings will be published in Applied Surface Science** after this meeting. The submitted proceeding manuscripts will be refereed. **The article should be submitted to the Publication Office on the first day of the meeting.** More information of the conference will be announced on the Web Site (http://www.murota.riec.tohoku.ac.jp/ISTDM2003Jan/).

### INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

P. Ashburn (Southampton Univ., UK), M.R. Caymax (IMEC, Belgium), S.-J. Chang (National Cheng Kung Univ., Taiwan), J. Derrien (CRMC2-CNRS, France), J. Eymery (CEA DRFMC, France), D. Grützmacher (PSI, Switzerland), J.L. Hoyt (MIT, USA), E. Kasper (Stuttgart Univ., Germany), J. Murota (Tohoku Univ., Japan), A. Ourmazd (IHP, Germany), Y. Shiraki (Univ. Tokyo, Japan), J.C. Sturm (Princeton Univ., USA), B. Tillack (IHP, Germany), Y. Yasuda (Nagoya Univ., Japan), S. Zaima (Nagoya Univ., Japan)

### INTERNATIONAL TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE

J. Murota (Chair; Tohoku Univ., Japan), B. Tillack (Vice Chair; IHP, Germany), J.C. Sturm (Vice Chair; Princeton Univ., USA), M.R. Caymax (*Publication*; IMEC, Belgium), T. Abe (Shin-Etsu Handotai, Japan), W. Arden (Infineon, Germany), J. Arndt (Atmel, Germany), S. Banerjee (Univ. Texas at Austin, USA), D. Bouchier (UMR CNRS, France), M. Carroll (USA), A. Chantre (STMicroelectronics, France), S.-C. Chen (TSMC, Taiwan), J.D. Cressler (Georgia Inst. Tech., USA), M. Currie (AmberWave Systems, USA), D. Dutartre (STMicroelectronics, France), I. Eisele (Univ. Bundeswehr, Germany), J.M. Hartmann (CEA LETI, France), D. Houghton (Aixtron-Canada, Canada), V. Ilderem (Motorola, USA), H. von Kaenel (ETH Zürich, Switzerland), T.-J. King (UC Berkeley, USA), J. Kolodzey (Univ. Delaware, USA), Y. Kunii (Hitachi Kokusai) Electric, Japan), H. Kurino (Tohoku Univ., Japan), C.W. Liu (National Taiwan University, Taiwan), B. Meinerzhagen (Univ. Bremen, Germany), T. Mimura (Fujitsu Laboratories, Japan), M. Miyao (Kyushu Univ., Japan), M. Nakamae (Sumitomo Mitsubishi Silicon, Japan), M. Nakamura (SONY, Japan), J. Osten (Univ. Hannover, Germany), R. Plana (LAAS-CNRS, France), J. Ramm (Unaxis, Liechtenstein), H.-M. Rein (Ruhr-Univ. Bochum, Germany), F.M. Ross (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA), H. Rücker (IHP, Germany), J. Sakai (Anelva, Japan), A. Samoilov (Applied Materials, USA), K. Saraswat (Stanford Univ., USA), S. Selberherr (Tech. Univ. Vienna, Austria), D. Singh (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA), J.W. Slotboom (Philips, The Netherlands), Y. Suda (Tokyo Univ. Agriculture and Tech., Japan), N. Suematsu (Mitsubishi Electric, Japan), S. Takagi (Toshiba, Japan), T. Takagi (Matsushita Electric, Japan), T. Tasumi (NEC, Japan), J. Wen (ASM America, USA), M. Willander (Chalmers Univ. Tech., Sweden), Y.-H. Xie (UCLA, USA), T. Yoshikawa (Matsushita Electric, Japan), Y.-D. Zheng (Nanjing Univ., China)

#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE** for the 1st Meeting

Y. Yasuda (Chair; Nagoya Univ., Japan), Y. Shiraki (Vice Chair; Univ. Tokyo, Japan), A. Ourmazd (Vice Chair; IHP, Germany), J. Murota (Secretary; Tohoku Univ., Japan), B. Tillack (Secretary; IHP, Germany), S. Zaima (Secretary; Nagoya Univ., Japan)

#### STEERING COMMITTEE for the 1st Meeting

S. Zaima (Chair; Nagoya Univ., Japan), A. Sakai (Nagoya Univ., Japan), M. Sakuraba (Tohoku Univ., Japan), O. Nakatsuka (Nagoya Univ., Japan), S. Takehiro (Tohoku Univ., Japan)